Skip to content

A Gospel Primer (and Winning at Home)

June 1, 2011

Two years ago I was given a book by Paul Wright called “A Gospel Primer for Christians: Learning to See the Glories of God’s Love.” Confession time…I only recently picked it up and began trying to digest it in small doses. The basic premise of the book is that each of us need to begin to preach the gospel to ourselves daily. Milton Vincent starts off his book by putting it this way:

The gospel is so foolish (according to my natural wisdom…1 Corinthians 1:21, 23), so scandalous (according to my conscience…1 Corinthians 1:23), and so incredible (according to my timid heart…1 John 3: 19-20), that it is a daily battle to believe the full scope of it as I should.   There is simply no other way to compete with the forebodings of my conscience, the condemnings of my heart, and the lies of the world and the Devil (2 Corinthians 4:4) than to overwhelm such things with daily rehearsings of the gospel.

Needless to say that these small doses of “gospel-thinking” have been extremely challenging to me personally. As someone who regularly stands up in front of others and reminds them of their need for the gospel today as much as the day they were saved I often don’t preach it regularly to myself.

Back to the idea of “Winning at Home.”  In the first week’s sermon we were encouraged by Bruce Barlow to “start somewhere” in bringing faith into our home.  This last week Roger Peugh gave an excellent message from Deuteronomy 6.  Here are a few of my favorite quotes from his message on Sunday:

Your children are your life ministry.

The beginning of the process (passing on a vibrant faith) is having it be real in my own life.

Be fake and they will reject you in a heartbeat.

Start where you’re at laying the foundation of a new process.

I love that! “Start where you’re at…” gives hope that no matter where we’ve been we can do something new and intentional in our own home…and that’s not just for those who have children.

Coming full circle back to Milton Vincent…
Today’s reading was about “Loving my brothers and sisters” and I think it’s particularly valuable as I consider my own children (because the core of my fatherly responsibilities are to bring up my boys as brothers in Christ that God has given me a special and unique bond with for my earthly life).   Here’s what was written…I’m including the connection with children in the quote.

…I realize that the greatest gift I can give to my fellow-Christians (children) is the gospel itself. Indeed, I love my fellow-Christians (children) not simply because of the gospel, but I love them best when I am loving them with the gospel! (1 Thessalonians 5:8) And I do this not merely by speaking gospel words to them, but also by living before them and generously relating to them in a gospel manner. Imparting my life to them in this way, I thereby contribute to their experience of the power, the Spirit, and the full assurance of the gospel (1 Thessalonians 1:5).

That idea of relating to them in a gospel manner seems to be the daily battle if I am to win at home.  If I am to take Bruce and Roger’s advice in this manner I must start somewhere.  What about today?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 3:26 am

    I was given a copy of this book a few months ago, and finished it last month. It has richly blessed me. and is a wonderful volume =)

Leave a Reply

