Skip to content

Epic Update: Romans 12:2 (11/10/10)

November 12, 2010

Romans 12:1-2 (NIV)
Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Last week we considered that we offer ourselves to God, on a regular basis, in simple response to the mercy that he’s given to us.  Here are a few thoughts from verse 2:

  • This is a tale of two identities (Galatians 5:19-26).  When we came to Christ we were moved from one identity (the world, sin, death) to another identity (God’s way, righteousness, life).  The battle now is to continue to move towards the identity I already possess, but often run away from.
  • There is always pressure around me trying to squeeze me back into the mold of the world.  When I start to realize this then I can begin to fight the obvious pressures and the hidden squeezing that happens every day.
  • The way I fight being conformed is to be TRANSFORMED, and I accomplish this through the renewing of my mind.
  • It all begins in the mind!  Although God has saved me and given me a new identity, there is much in me that needs to change…starting with what goes on in my head (my values, ideas, perspective, goals, motivations).  I allow God to transform my mind when I choose to YIELD to the Spirit in me, and then YIELD to the Word of God that changes how I think.
  • When I DO NOT conform, but DO become transformed, then God’s will starts to make sense.
  • I don’t have a choice.  I’ve got to go one way or another…there’s no option for neutrality.  It’s a choice to either CONFORM, or BE TRANSFORMED.

All of this seems basic, right?  Let’s do it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

