Skip to content

Thoughts and such…

March 19, 2010

• I’ve thought about doing this for awhile now (thoughts and such).  I love Mark and Rich‘s updates, and have thought that I tend to write in this format, anyways.  So, thanks to them.

• We had a retreat last weekend.  Can I say it was Epic?  I’m very grateful to Roy Angle for being our retreat speaker!  Our topic was “What’s so great about the gospel?” and I think that he did a great job of laying a foundation about what the gospel is!  I’m excited for us to continue to be able to unpack this with students.

• Much of what Roy talked about last weekend was taken from Tim Keller’s book The Prodigal God.  I’m almost done with it now and I must say that I resonate with the older brother.  I’m excited that some of our students have picked up this book and are currently reading it now, too!

•  Speaking of books…last weekend we tried to load up each student with give-aways.  Each student left with two t-shirts (an Epic Wednesdays one and a The Retreat Starts Now one), a poster from the weekend, and one of three books:  Crazy Love, The Forgotten God, or The Prodigal God.  I know some of them have already finished their book…which makes me encouraged.

•  Have I said that our youth staff is amazing?  The serve and love extremely well.

•  If I missed saying something about slaughter I’d be in trouble…very fun!  It was probably the best game of slaughter I’ve ever played.  You can see some videos HERE.

•  Excited to hang with some good friends at the CELS conference on Monday and Tuesday…and to be refreshed in the process.

•  It’s almost here!  The Imagine the Potential banquet is Sunday night.  This has been a long process and I’m excited to see where God will continue to stretch our church family in all of this.  New ministry.  New students.  New tools to connect with people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

